Ravens take Colts Championship with commanding win

Posted on

Congratulations to the 2015 Ravens Colts who won their Division 2 Colts final 38-13 against the Dunedin Hammerheads at Bathgate Park on Saturday. The conditions were ideal under foot and above, allowing for some good running rugby. This allowed the Ravens to show their skills and play their full 15 man rugby which was too much for the Dunedin side, and for any other side for that matter during 2015 where they remained unbeaten.
Hamish McCallion controlled the game well from 1st 5/8 and had a very strong game showing good speed on the break.  The Ravens victory like all their victories this season came from a solid platform up front.  The strong scrum led by the front row of Hill, O’Shea and Wilson destroyed the Dunedin front row.  Tireless locks Jack Winson and Richie Buchanan worked hard in the tight and worked well with the impressive loose trio of Harry Cunninghame, Kereama Eriepa and Riki Washington. 

The Ravens scored some outstanding tries for a final and outside backs George McKinlay and Jack Lewis had strong games.  Ollie Stirling was a rock in midfield and was well supported by Captain Arthur McKechnie.  To the Victors go the spoils!  A great season for the Ravens who played some attractive rugby and amassed well over a 100 tries.  Special mention to Coach Warren Batchelor and Manager Aaron for their great work with this team throughout the year.

Well done on bringing a banner into the Club in 2015, where other teams who were also favoured to do the same didn’t quite cross the line.

The Otago University Club continued their great season by winning Div 1 Colts, and the Premier 2 division (both over Dunedin). This capped off a successful season with their Premiers winning the Championship and their women being runner up. Congratulation to the Uni Club on winning the Ainge Shield (for Top Club in Dunedin based on performances). Daylight would be second…. with Dunedin and Southern being the next best.